Print this page

President of Republic Of Chad Assures Of Ratification of African Court Protocol by Early Next Year

Wednesday, 23 December 2015 00:00


Arusha, 17 December, 2015: The President of the Republic of Chad H.E. Idriss Deby Itno and the President of African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights Hon. Justice Augustino Ramadhani yesterday held

cordial discussions at the State House in N’djamena. H.E the President of Chad lauded the work of the African Court and pledged that his country would by early next year ratify the Protocol establishing the Court and make the Declaration under Article 34(6) to enable individuals and NGOs to access the Court directly.
    Since the adoption of the Protocol in June 1998 (more than 16 years ago), twenty 29 of the 54 Member States of the African Union have ratified it and only seven State Parties to the Protocol have made the Declaration.

Hon. Justice Ramadhani thanked the President of Chad for the assurance of the ratification of the Protocol and the Declaration.

He also thanked the government of Chad for hosting of the Court’s  Central African Regional Sensitization seminar 15-16 December, 2015 in N’djamena, which was attended by over 100 delegates including government officials, relevant ministries, Bar Associations and the Human Rights Commissions from Chad, Gabon, Cameroon, the Democratic Republic of Congo and the Central African Republic.

The seminar was preceded by a one-day sensitization for senior Chadian Journalists and Editors on 14 December, 2015.
Since December 2010, the Court has carried out continent-wide promotion programmes which have so far seen it hold 24 sensitization visits and 9 regional and continental seminars and conferences.
The main objective of the sensitization visits is to enhance the protection of human rights in Africa. Specific objectives include raising public awareness about the Court; encouraging the ratification and the deposit of the Declaration that allows individuals and NGOs direct access to the Court; sensitizing would-be applicants on how to access the Court and the procedures before the Court; encouraging the public to utilize the Court in settling human rights disputes and encouraging the utilization of the Court to render advisory opinions.
The countries which have ratified the Protocol by 23 December, 2015 are: Algeria; Benin; Burkina Faso; Burundi; Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire; Comoros; Congo; Gabon; The Gambia; Ghana; Kenya; Libya; Lesotho; Malawi; Mali; Mauritania; Mauritius; Mozambique; Nigeria; Niger; Uganda; Rwanda; Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic; Senegal; South Africa; Tanzania; Togo; and Tunisia.
The seven States which have made the Declaration are: Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Malawi, Mali, Rwanda and Tanzania.
Further information on the sensitization visit can be obtained from the Court’s website at

Last modified on Wednesday, 23 December 2015 14:03
Read 3990 times
Rate this item
(0 votes)