Print this page

12 Universities to Battle It Out In African Moot Competition Finals

Monday, 30 November 2015 00:00

Moot CourtArusha, 29 November, 2015: Twelve universities from ten African countries have qualified for the finals of the pilot African Moot Court Competition

to be held from 30 November to 3 December, 2015 in Arusha, Tanzania.

The finalists are: L’ Universite Catholique d’Afrique Centrale (Cameroon); Makerere University  (Uganda), Moi University (Kenya) ;University of Pretoria(South Africa), University of Zambia (Zambia); Centre d’etude et de recherché(Burkina Faso)and University of Ibandan (Nigeria).

Others are: University of Zimbabwe (Zimbabwe); University of Nigeria, Nsukka (Nigeria); St Augustine University (Tanzania); Law Development Center (Uganda) and Haramaya University (Ethiopia).

Each team will be represented by two students assisted by a team coach.

Each team will present oral submissions for no more than 20 minutes followed by ten minutes for rebuttals and questions from the jury.

The competition will be conducted in English and French with simultaneous translation.
The winners will be determined from the highest score attained from two competition rounds.

The participants will attend a workshop on the African Human Rights System on Monday 30 November at the Naura Springs Hotel.

The moot competition has been jointly organized by the African Court on Human Peoples’ Rights, the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, the African Committee of Experts on the Rights and Welfare of the Child and the African Governance Architecture and facilitated by the German International Development Agency (GIZ).


The objectives of the Moot Court Competition are:
•    To educate future leaders on the African Human Rights System and African Governance Architecture;
•    To create links and support networks between African institutions of higher learning interested in African Union studies;
•    To improve the understanding and appreciation of the workings of the African Union.

Further information can be obtained from the Court’s website at


Last modified on Monday, 30 November 2015 10:08
Read 3775 times
Rate this item
(1 Vote)