For Inquiries Contact » +255-27-970-430


Friday, 23 February 2018 09:08

Arusha, 23 February 2018: The Judges of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Court of Justice will pay a one-week working visit to the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights (AfCHPR) in Arusha,

Tanzania, from 25 February to 1 March, 2018 with a view to exchanging experiences and sharing judicial knowledge.

The President of the African Court, Hon Justice Sylvain Oré, said that the visit is the  continuation of strengthening of ties with Regional Courts on the continent and ‘’ learn best practices with a view to enhancing and incorporating highest standards in the dispensation of justice on the continent.’’

The visiting seven Abuja-based Judges, led by the President, Hon Justice Jerome Traore, will hold talks with their African Court counterparts on the protection of human rights in particular and the administration of justice as a whole.

Other members of the delegation are: Hon. Justice Yusif Kaba (Vice-President), Hon Justice Mahalmadane Heméye Founé (Dean of Judges), Hon Justice Yaya Boiro, Hon Justice Maria Do Ceu Silva Monteiro, Hon Justice Chijioke Friday Nwoke and Hon Justice Alioune Sall.
The Registry staff in the team are: Mr Tony Maidoh Anene (Chief Register), Mr Athanase Atannon (Deputy Register), Mr William Towah (Director of Finance and Administration), Dr Ousmane Diallo (Director of Documentation and Research), Mr Eric Kwaovi Akuete (Chief of Protocol) and Mr Sunny Ugoh (Chief of Communication Division).

The delegation will also pay courtesy visits to the East African Court of Justice (EACJ) and the UN- Mechanism for International Criminal Tribunals (MICT), both based in Arusha.

The AfCHPR and ECOWAS-CCJ will also sign a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU).
1.The AfCHPR was established by virtue of Article 1 of the Protocol to the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights on the Establishment of an African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights, to complement the protective mandate of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, with a view to enhancing the protection of human rights on the Continent.  
2. The ECOWAS Court of Justice is an organ of ECOWAS, a regional integration community of 15 member states in West Africa. Although ECOWAS was founded in 1975 by the Treaty of Lagos, the Court of Justice was not created until the adoption of the Protocol on the Community Court of Justice in 1991. Additionally, the ECOWAS Revised Treaty of 1993 established the Court of Justice as an institution of ECOWAS. The Protocol was amended twice; once in 2005, and again in 2006. The 2005 Supplementary Protocol expanded the Court's jurisdiction to include human rights claims by individuals.
Further information on the African Court can be obtained from the Court’s website at and on the ECOWAS Court on
For more comments:
Dr Robert Eno, Registrar
Tel: +255 2970430; 02970431; 02970432; 02970433; 02970434; 02970435
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



Last modified on Friday, 23 February 2018 09:12
Read 5000 times
Rate this item
(0 votes)


General Information
Phone:+255-27 2970430

Physical Address
African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights
Mwalimu Julius Nyerere Conservation Centre
Dodoma Road
P.O. Box 6274 Arusha, TANZANIA