For Inquiries Contact » +255-27-970-430

Cameroon ratifies the Protocol

Tuesday, 01 September 2015 00:00

The Republic of Cameroon has deposited its instrument of ratification of the Protocol

to the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights on the establishment of the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Right bringing the number of African Union (AU) Member States to have ratified it to 29.

The instrument was deposited on 17 August, 2015 at the AU Headquarters in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

The other States which have already ratified are: Algeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Côte d’Ivoire, Comoros, Congo, Gabon and The Gambia.

Others are: Ghana; Kenya, Libya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius,                 Mozambique, Nigeria, Niger, Uganda, Rwanda,  Arab Saharawi Republic , Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Togo and Tunisia.

The African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights is a continental court established by AU to enhance the protection of human and peoples’ rights in Africa.


In addition to the ratification of the Protocol, States have to make a Declaration required under Article 34(6) of the Protocol to allow individuals and NGOs to bring cases directly before the Court. Without such Declaration, the Court would have no jurisdiction over cases brought by individuals and NGOs.

So far only seven states have made the Declaration.

These are: Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivore, Ghana, Malawi, Mali, Rwanda and Tanzania.

The Court was established by virtue of Article 1 of the Protocol to the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights on the Establishment of an African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights.

The Protocol was adopted on 9 June 1998 in Burkina Faso and came into force on 25 January 2004.The Court officially started its operations in November 2006.

The AU is made up of 54 Member States.

Last modified on Tuesday, 01 September 2015 08:43
Read 5693 times
Rate this item
(1 Vote)